The story of Albert Ménès

frise
histoire-1
A COMPANY SOON TO BE CENTENARIAN

It all begins in 1921, in Landerneau in Brittany. Albert Ménès rediscovers the gourmet pleasures of his Breton childhood, having set sail in the navy in the early 1900s.

On his return, still dreaming of fragrances from elsewhere and eager for new experiences, this refined gourmet resolves to introduce Parisians to the flavours of the provinces. In 1921, he founds the company Albert Ménès. Importing rare groceries from all over the world, he delights the palates of enlightened amateurs.

ALBERT MENES, FLAVOUR DISCOVERER

Maison Albert Ménès has been distributing fine grocery products founded on quality and authenticity in France since 1921.

As the grocery purveyor to Edouard Leclerc, who provides him with shelf space in his first supermarket in Brittany, Albert Ménès has a hunger to learn and an unerring intuition for every product. Swiftly achieving the status of wholesaler, he retains his drive to share and revive forgotten flavours through recipes, traditional or new, with regional, local, cultural roots. Every Albert Ménès product has its story.

histoire-2
histoire-3
THE DEMOCRATISATION OF FINE DELI

France soon enters into a less prosperous economic period. Many producers can no longer afford to go to market and small, talented grocery stores disappear. History is turned upside down when Albert Ménès, at the forefront of taste and craftsmanship, and Thierry Hervey, at the forefront of modern commerce, meet.

Thierry Hervey creates the brand in 1986 and launches a new type of concept: shelves of fine deli products, labelled Albert Ménès and the fruits of work with small producers. Jams, spices, spreads, biscuits, dried fruit, fish, small exotic products, sauces, condiments, soups, honeys, mustards ... all products worthy of the quality know-how and tradition of master grocers, but in supermarkets.

A COMPANY PERPETUATING THE TRADITION OF TASTE TO THIS DAY

Between discoveries, tradition and innovation, Albert Ménès offers a range of 400 staple and luxury products to lovers of taste.

Perpetuating the art of Fine Deli for almost 100 years, Albert Ménès has made it its mission to bring a touch of the special to everyday life, offering exceptional, artisanal spices, regional and global specialities, traditional and unique recipes, and jams, and all this in compliance with the know-how and secrets of the trade.

histoire-4

Une Maison bientôt centenaire 


C’est en 1921 que tout commence, à Landerneau en Bretagne. Albert Ménès retrouve les plaisirs gourmands de son enfance bretonne, après avoir embarqué comme mousse dans la marine au début des années 1900.

À son retour, encore rêveur de parfums d’ailleurs et désireux d’expériences nouvelles, ce gourmet raffiné décide de faire découvrir les saveurs de la Province aux parisiens. Il fonde, en 1921, la Maison Albert Ménès et importe du monde entier des produits d’épicerie rares qu’il fait savourer aux amateurs éclairés.

Albert Ménès, découvreur de saveurs


Depuis 1921, la Maison Albert Ménès distribue en France des produits d’épicerie fine dont la qualité et l’authenticité sont les fondements.

Épicier pour Edouard Leclerc qui lui ouvre ses mètres linéaires dans sa première grande surface bretonne, Albert Ménès est curieux de tout et sensible à chaque produit. Rapidement arrivé au rang de grossiste, il conserve sa volonté de faire vivre et revivre les saveurs oubliées, des recettes traditionnelles ou nouvelles, issues d’une région, d’un terroir, d’une culture.

Derrière chaque produit Albert Ménès, il y a une histoire.

La démocratisation de l'Epicerie Fine


La France entre bientôt dans une période économique moins faste. De nombreux petits producteurs n’ont plus les moyens de partir à l’assaut du marché et les épiceries d’artisans talentueux disparaissent. La rencontre entre Albert Ménès, à l’avant-garde du goût et Thierry Hervey, à l’avant-garde du commerce moderne, bouleverse l’histoire.

Thierry Hervey crée la marque en 1986 et lance un concept d’un nouveau genre : des mètres linéaires d’épicerie fine, labellisés Albert Ménès, et issus d’un travail avec des petits producteurs. Confitures, épices, tartinables, biscuits, fruits secs, poissons, produits exotiques, sauces, condiments, soupes, miels, moutardes…tous les produits dignes d’un savoir-faire de qualité et de la tradition des maîtres épiciers, mais en grande surface.

Une Maison perpetuant la tradition du goût encore aujourd'hui



Entre découvertes, tradition, et innovation, c’est une gamme de 400 produits incontournables et qualitatifs que la Maison Albert Ménès met à disposition des amoureux du goût.

Perpétuant l’art de l’Epicerie Fine depuis presque 100 ans, Albert Ménès s’est donné pour mission d’apporter une touche d’exception au quotidien, proposant épices d’exceptions, confitures artisanales, spécialités régionales et du monde, recettes traditionnelles et uniques, et tout ceci dans le respect des savoir-faire et tours de main.